The Trash Folder

When you delete an email message, it is moved to the Trash folder, where it stays until the folder is emptied (or a certain number of days go by, as specified in the preferences General Tab).

If your storage space is getting full, check your Trash folder. Emptying it might free up some space.

To empty the Trash folder:

Click the Empty link to the right of the Trash link in the folder list.