EarthLink 
 Web Mail Help 
 
 Help > spamBlocker > spamBlocker Settings  

 

 
 

spamBlocker Settings

You can customize spamBlocker's settings to change your level of spam protection, set email notification options, edit your Blocked Sender List, and more.

Opening spamBlocker Settings

To access spamBlocker Settings, click the Settings tab in the spamBlocker interface.

Changing Your Level of spam Blocking

  1. Click the button next to the protection level you want. (Learn about the different levels of spam protection.)
  2. Click the Save Changes button at the bottom of the page.

Turning off Suspect Email Blocking (high) will delete any messages in your Suspect Email folder. Turning off all spamBlocker features will delete any messages that exist in your Suspect Email and Known spam folders. Move the messages you want to save to your Inbox before changing your level of spam protection.

Changing the Period Covered by Your Email Summary

Periodically, you'll receive an email summary listing messages that spamBlocker has blocked completely (i.e., messages from people you've added to your Blocked Senders List). If you've activated Suspect Email Blocking, these emails will also list messages that have been redirected to your Suspect Email folder. Summary emails are for your information and don't require any action on your part.

To choose how often you want to receive these summaries:

  1. Select Daily or Weekly (click Never to disable email summaries).
  2. Click the Save Changes button at the bottom of the window.

Editing Your Blocked Sender List

When an email address or domain is on your Blocked Sender List, messages sent to you from that address or domain are immediately and permanently deleted—no automatic replies will be sent. When a person is on your Blocked Sender List, spamBlocker stops sending that person automatic replies and prevents any messages from that person from reaching any of your email folders, including your spam folders. Senders appear on your Blocked Sender List automatically when you reject their Allowed Sender Requests. But you can also add email addresses to your Blocked Sender List manually via your Web Mail Preferences.

Note: Even if you turn off spamBlocker, your Blocked Sender List remains active as long as it contains email addresses or domains. If you want to receive email from those senders, remember to remove their email addresses from the Blocked Sender List.

Note: Certain email messages will always appear in your Inbox, regardless of your spamBlocker settings. These include Allowed Sender Requests and summaries sent by spamBlocker; most "bounced" email notices generated when you send messages to invalid email addresses; and messages from EarthLink regarding your account, Customer Support, and EarthLink products and services (you can stop receiving messages about products and services by following the unsubscribe instructions in those emails).

To add a sender or domain to the list:

  1. Click the Blocked Sender List link on the Settings page.
  2. Type the sender's email address in the smaller of the two text fields. To add a domain (such as "earthlink.net"), enter it into the box instead of an email address.
  3. Click the Block This Address or Domain button.
  4. Click Save.

To remove a sender from the list:

  1. Click the Blocked Sender List link on your Settings page.
  2. In the list of blocked senders, select the email address or domain you want to remove.
  3. Click the Unblock Sender(s) button.
  4. Click the Save.

Note: Removing someone from the Blocked Sender List does not necessarily mean you will begin receiving email from that person in your Inbox. If you've activated Suspect Email Blocking, spamBlocker will redirect messages from that sender to the Suspect Email folder until you add the sender to your Address Book.

Emptying Your Suspect Email Folder

spamBlocker allows you to specify how often your Suspect Email folder is emptied. Because Suspect Email counts toward your email storage limit, you may want to specify a shorter number of days if:

  • You find that you receive a lot of Suspect Email.
  • You don't intend to check your Suspect Email folder.

Turn Off spamBlocker Auto-Response Messages

When Suspect Email Blocking intercepts a message, spamBlocker notifies the sender with an Allowed Sender Request message. You can turn off these messages if you prefer. If you turn off this function, people who are not in your Address Book will not know that their message was intercepted by spamBlocker. The messages will still appear in your Suspect Email folder so you can add the senders to your Address Book if you wish.

Customize Your spamBlocker Auto-Response Message

You can modify spamBlocker's default Allowed Sender Request message by changing the text in the box beneath "Edit your auto-response message" and checking the "Use Customized auto-response message" radio button. To use the default Web Mail auto-response message, click the "Use Default auto-response message" radio button. Then click Save Changes.

Note: If you activate your custom auto-response message, your email address will appear in the "From" field, which will be seen by the original sender.

Delete Known spam Immediately

Known spam is automatically deleted by Web Mail, unless this setting is turned off. If it is turned off, Known spam is kept in your Known spam folder for 10 days, when it's deleted. The Known spam folder will hold 100 messages. If more than 100 messages come in, then the older ones are deleted, even if they're not 10 days old.

If the Delete known spam immediately feature is turned On, clicking your Known spam folder will show you a graph detailing how much known spam spamBlocker has intercepted.

Return to spamBlocker Help